Skip to content

Snicker Salad

November 9, 2015

My friend hosted her annual 9×13 Midwest Party.  I always enjoy this as it’s a nostalgic look back at all the Minnesota potlucks growing up.  There are so many options to choose from: bars, Jello, hot dishes, oh my!  Last year I did my mom’s #1 go to dessert potluck 7 layer bars.  This year I did one of my favorites as a kid that always made an appearance at our swimming potlucks: Snicker Salad.  Leave it to the Midwest to create a salad with a candy bar in it…  I got lots of laughs at my party, but mostly everyone was impressed at how good it was for the odd ingredients.

My second choice was making my dad’s favorite, cherry delight which hilariously enough someone else made!  Other ideas for next year are: puppy chow, strawberry pretzel salad, or maybe a main dish like my mother’s meatloaf.

Difficulty: Easy!
Prep Time: 20 min
Cook Time: None
Chill Time: 1 hour
Total Time: 1 hour 20 min
Yield: 9×13-inch pan full, ~12-16 servings
Taste: Midwesterny

Snicker Salad

INGREDIENTS:

4 Granny Smith apples
6 normal size Snickers bars
12 ounce THAWED container of Cool Whip

PROCEDURE:

1) Chop cored apples into small bite-size pieces and place into large bowl

2) Coarsely chop Snickers bars and add to large bowl

3) Fold in Cool Whip and chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour. Not overnight. Moisture from the apples and Cool Whip tends to form water after 24 hours so it’s best served and eaten that day.

Source: Memory

From → Dessert

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

