Skip to content

Bourbon Vanilla Glaze

March 2, 2015

For Halloween this year (yes, this is a really late post) I made the pumpkin cupcakes that I had made last year. However, I somehow managed to completely miss putting any sugar into my recipe. D’oh! I usually never make this big of a mistake. I avoid this by taking out every single ingredient required prior to starting to make sure I have everything and put them away as I use them to make sure I don’t miss anything. But I slipped on sliding the sugar canister over on the counter… I thought the batter tasted slightly tart prior to putting them in the cup cake container, but I thought it was just the pumpkin. I should have known better with how thick the batter was. As soon as I took them out of the oven I knew something wasn’t right. They were quite lumpy and didn’t really rise. I looked through my ingredient list again and sure enough, I skipped the sugar.

So instead of using the cream cheese frosting I decided I needed to somehow infuse the cup cakes with sugar. I decided poking holes in the cupcakes and making a glaze would be a good option. And a little bourbon wouldn’t hurt!

Properly made Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting at the top and the sugarless Pumpkin Cupcakes with Bourbon Vanilla Glaze towards the bottom.

Properly made Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting at the top and the sugarless Pumpkin Cupcakes with Bourbon Vanilla Glaze towards the bottom.

Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 5 min
Total Time: 10 min
Yield: enough to frost 3-4 dozen cup cakes
Taste: ok

Ingredients:

1 cup powdered sugar
8 ounces butter, melted
2 tbs bourbon
1 tbs vanilla extract

Procedure:

1) Slowly sift the powdered sugar into the melted butter. Simmer until fully combined, and then add the bourbon and vanilla. Continue to simmer for a moment more to cook off the alcohol taste.

2) Pour over buns hot, or let cool to room temperature and use as a spreadable frosting. The longer you wait the more solid it will become.

Source: Cooking Channel

From → Dessert

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

