Skip to content

Chocolate Almond Torte – Happy Birthday Cindy!

January 27, 2014

I got a birthday request for a chocolate cake. I just made Jim’s delicious chocolate cake and wanted to try something a bit different. I searched through my plethora of recipe books and this one sound interesting. I was pretty excited for it as I have never used almond extract before and it smelled delicious! I could not believe I hadn’t baked with it before. I felt like I should have had an amaretto sour while baking this.

Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed with it. The cake I think was ok, albeit it was pretty flat cake. But the “frosting” ended up being more like the consistency of thick caramel. Because the frosting wasn’t very spreadable I decided not to slice the two cakes in half like the recipe called for. So my cake was only 2 layers instead of 4. Not so torte-like I guess. If I made this again I’d use a different frosting recipe.

Almond Torte Cake 2

Difficulty: Medium
Prep Time: 1 hour (cake), 5 min (frosting)
Cook Time: 15 -20 min (cake), 10 min (frosting)
Total Time: 95 min
Taste: ok cake, bad frosting
Yield: 12 servings

Ingredients
CAKE
4 large eggs, separated
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 cup finely chopped toasted almonds
3/4 cup all purpose Flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2/3 cup milk

CHOCOLATE ALMOND FROSTING
2 (1 oz.) squares semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
1 (14 oz.) can Sweetened Condensed Milk (not to be confused with evaporated milk)
1 teaspoon almond extract

Procedure:
CAKE

1) Pre-heat oven to 350ºF. Grease the bottom of two (8- or 9-inch) round cake pans. Cut wax paper to fit the bottom of the cake pan and place on greased bottom. Grease wax paper lightly and dust with flour tapping out excess.

2) Beat egg whites in small bowl until soft peaks form and set aside.

3) Beat softened butter and granulated sugar until fluffy in large bowl. Add egg yolks, vanilla and almond extracts; mix well.

4) Combine almonds, flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda in medium bowl; add alternately with milk to butter mixture, beating well after each addition.

5) Fold in beaten egg whites into mixture. Pour evenly into prepared pans.

6) Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans. Cool completely.

7) Cut each cake layer in half horizontally; fill and frost with Chocolate Almond Frosting (below). Garnish as desired.

CHOCOLATE ALMOND FROSTING
1) Melt chocolate with sweetened condensed milk in heavy saucepan over low heat.

2) The original recipe called for cooking and stirring the mixture until it thickens, about 10 minutes. I think the frosting was way too thick. I would recommend cooking only until all the chocolate has melted.

3) Remove from heat; cool 10 minutes. Stir in almond extract; cool. (Makes about 1 1/2 cups.)

Source: 100 Best Chocolate Recipes, 2006, Page 62

From → Dessert

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Coconut Cake with Lemon Custard | Elements of Wood

Leave a Reply

