Skip to content

Buttermilk Pancakes with Whip Cream

November 15, 2013

I’m not an egg fan so I’m pretty limited to my morning selection of breakfast foods. Good thing I enjoy pancakes and waffles, because that it usually all I’m left with. This is a modified version of my mom’s go-by pancake recipe. I didn’t have enough buttermilk one day to make the normal recipe so I improvised and think it came out even better. The sour cream made the pancakes quite thick. Note: I used light sour cream, I imagine if you used regular sour cream they would be even thicker!

BUTTERMILK PANCAKES

Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 15 min
Cook Time: 15 min
Total Time: 30 min
Yield: 10 four-inch pancakes
Taste: Good

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 teas baking soda
2 teas baking powder
3 eggs
2 tbs oil or butter (melted)
1.5 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup sour cream

Procedure:
1) I use an electric skillet to make more at one time. Heat skillet to 350 degrees F.
2) Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Stir until well combined.
3) Spray the skillet with cooking spray prior to pouring batter into skillet.
4) Pour batter into skillet to make approximately 4-inch round pancakes.
5) Flip pancakes once top begins to form small bubbles. Continue cooking on other side until golden brown.

Pancakes

For whatever reason, I’ve made these pancakes twice lately and have had whipping cream in the fridge and thought why not sweeten them up a bit more? I whipped up some whip cream in a jiff with the recipe below. Note, whipping cream approximately doubles in volume after being whipped so plan accordingly.

WHIP CREAM

Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 0 min
Total Time: 5 min
Yield: 2 cups whip cream
Taste: Good

Ingredients:
1 cup of heavy whipping cream
2 tbs of granulated sugar

for optional flavoring:
1/2 tsp vanilla -or-
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Procedure:
1) Place whipping cream, sugar, and any optional flavoring into a medium to large bowl.
2) With an electric mixer on high, mix until soft peaks form. Do not over-mix.

Source: Heidi’s Kitchen

From → Breakfast

Leave a Reply

