Skip to content

Apple Bread

April 15, 2013

Once again I found myself with oodles of apples on hand. Given my current state I have no ability to eat them raw. Easy solution, bake with them:) I found this recipe in one of my cook books that seemed pretty tasty and edible for me. I doubled the recipe as shown below to make two loafs since it doesn’t seem logical to spend the time baking for only one loaf of bread. I used 6 small granny smith apples which yielded 4 cups shredded apples. Use a food processor for quick easy shredding.

Since I didn’t have any nuts on hand I wanted to give it a bit extra flavor so I added a powdered sugar glaze to the top of it. The glaze recipe is at the end of the post and is optional.

Banana Bread Loaf

APPLE BREAD

Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 20 min
Cook Time: 45 min
Total Time: 1 hour 5 min
Yield: 2 loafs
Taste: Very Good

Ingredients
3 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 beaten egg
2 cup sugar
4 cup finely shredded peeled apples
1/2 cup cooking oil
1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)

Procedure:
1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease the bottom and ½ inch up the sides of a 8x4x2 (I only have a 9-inch pan and that worked fine).
2) In a medium bowl combine the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, baking powder, and nutmeg.
3) In another medium bowl combine egg, sugar, shredded apples, and oil. Add this apple mixture all at once to the flour mixture. Don’t over mix. Fold in nuts. Spoon batter into prepared pans.
4) Bake for 45-55 minutes (45 minutes in my oven) until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Source: New Cook Book, Bridal Edition by Better Homes and Gardens, page 119

POWDERED SUGAR ICING

Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 0 min
Total Time: 5 min
Yield: ½ cup
Taste: Very sweet, good on baked goods that aren’t already too sweet

Ingredients
1 cup powdered sugar
¼ tsp. vanilla
1 -2 tbs of milk

Procedure:
1)  In a small bowl combine powdered sugar, vanilla and 1 tbs of milk.  Stir in additional milk 1 tsp at a time until icing reaches drizzling consistency.  I used 1.5 tbs of milk in total.

Source: New Cook Book, Bridal Edition by Better Homes and Gardens, page 172

From → Bread

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pear Bread  | Elements of Wood

Leave a Reply

